CanRC Signers of the Chicago Statement on Biblical Inerrancy

23 October 2013 by Wes Bredenhof

The other day someone drew my attention to this list of people who originally signed the Chicago Statement on Biblical Inerrancy.  There are lots of well-known names:  R. C. Sproul, Greg Bahnsen, W. Robert Godfrey, D. A. Carson, John MacArthur and many others.  But there are also three Canadian Reformed ministers who signed:  Jelle Faber, Heinrich Ohmann, and Lubbertus Selles.   This was in 1978 and these three men then made up the full-time faculty of the Canadian Reformed seminary here in Hamilton.  Faber taught dogmatics, Ohmann taught Old Testament, and Selles taught New Testament.   This further proves that there is a tradition of affirming biblical inerrancy in the Canadian Reformed Churches.  At one time, the entire faculty of our seminary affirmed it!